MassArt Library Blog


If I were to walk to the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston… by caitlin
September 18, 2009, 3:45 pm
Filed under: Caitlin
Madame Cézanne in a Red Armchair by Paul Cézanne

Madame Cézanne in a Red Armchair by Paul Cézanne

I was walking by the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, when Jonathan Richman started singing to me about the room where they keep the Cezanne. My iPod had selected “Girlfriend” by hometown heroes and proto-punkers The Modern Lovers. Don’t you just love it when your consumer electronics synchronize with you external environment? With Richman as my tour guide, I surveyed the progress on construction on the museum’s new wing.

“If I were to walk to the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston / Well, first I’d go to the room where they keep the Cezanne / But if I had by my side a girlfriend / Then I could look through the paintings, I could look right through them / Because I’d have found something that I understand, I understand a girlfriend, ” sings Richman, providing us an emotional tour of the Fenway, our backyard. Unlike Richman, the room with the Cezanne wouldn’t be my first stop – I generally like to check out the special exhibits in the Foster Gallery before I do anything else. But I digress – Cezanne’s not going anywhere, this new wing is for the American collection.

The song and the walk reminded me to remind all of you, dear MassArt community members, to take advantage of the MFA being only a stones throw from campus. MassArt students get in with your MassArt ID and the library has passes that can be checked out if you want to treat your Mom to a nice Sunday outing while showing off all the fancy knowledge you’re gaining at school. Next Thursday, September 24, the Museum is hosting a College Night that promises live music, DJs, and perhaps most importantly, free Mexican food.

The Museum of Fine Arts Boston

Jonathan Richman – Girlfriend/Roadrunner live

The Modern Lovers – Pablo Picasso

Jonathan Richamn and the Modern Lovers – New England

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

